White Wine Weekends

Last weekend I was visiting San Francisco and I was hiking Mt. Tamalpais with my boyfriend, Ben, when we stumbled upon the cutest group of older ladies having a picnic. They were in the middle of the forest, sitting on a wooden picnic table with wine (in wine glasses) and platters of cheese, crackers, meats, and fruits. A little part of me just melted inside. This is the kind of grandma that I want to be when I grow up — drinking wine and eating cheese in the middle of a forest with some of my best friends.

While in the Bay area, we also made our way up to the wine country and had an amazing time wine tasting all around Sonoma. I absolutely fell in love with a cheese board that I saw at one of the wineries, but unfortunately it was $60! (Can we say out of a college girl’s budget). So I have been looking and looking for a reasonably priced cheese board and happened to find this board from World Market (on sale for just $11)! It’s the perfect size, and it’s also slate which means that I can write on it with chalk!

Anyway, I always love to have wine and cheese parties with my girlfriends because well…I just love cheese and wine! Buying and pairing can be a little tricky, but here are some tips that I’ve learned along the way. Note: I am NO wine connoisseur, just giving a few tips and tricks.

Tip: Plan to buy 1 ounce of each cheese per guest if you plan to serve 3 – 5 cheeses. If you want to serve more cheeses, then buy less cheese per guest.

winecheese

  • White Wines: Sweet & crisp wines such as Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Gewurtztraminer, and Riesling
  • Cheeses: Brie, Cheddar, Gruyere, Gouda, Goat, and Mozzarella
  • Fruits: Apples (Granny Smith, Pink Lady, Honeycrisp), Berries, Mango, Oranges
  • Others: Baguette, Almonds, Crackers, Olives, Dark Chocolate, Dried Figs

 

For more inspiration, pairings, and recipe ideas, be sure to check out Barina Craft’s website for an easy to follow Food and Pairing Chart!

 

 
 
You must be at least 21 years of age to drink alcoholic beverages. Do not drink and drive, drink to excess or drink with certain medications or medical conditions. Please please please enjoy responsibly ❤
Leave a Reply

